Legislative News

This Client Update includes amendments to the legislation of the Republic of Kazakhstan and appointments in November 2009

The following 587 legislative acts were adopted in November 2009:

• Laws – 12

• Decrees of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan – 8;

• Resolutions of the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan – 228 (13 of which have not been enacted);

• Other regulatory legal acts.

Most of these regulatory legal acts are concerning public sector, but among them there are some which may attract your attention and affect your business in Kazakhstan in a certain way.

We would like to draw your attention to the following regulatory legal acts:

Resolution of the Board of the National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan dated 24 August 2009 № 77 «On Amendments to Resolution of the Board of the National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan dated 17 August 2006 № 86 «On Approval of Rules of Execution of Export-Import Currency Control in the Republic of Kazakhstan » (effective from 01.11.2009).

Thus, in accordance with amendments to Rules of Execution of Export-Import Currency Control in the Republic of Kazakhstan authorized bank as well as branch offices of National Bank carry out control over fulfillment of repatriation requirements under contracts for amount exceeding equivalent of fifty thousand US Dollars (previously it was ten thousand) except for cases specified in sub-items 1)-5), 7), item 20 of the Rules. Terms and notions used in the Rules have been changed as well.

Resolution of the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan dated 26 October 2009 № 1669 «On Approval of Standard for Rendering of State Service on Issue of Local Municipal Statements of Residence (effective from09.11.2009).

In accordance with item 2, Article 34 of the Budget Code of the Republic of Kazakhstan dated 4 December 2008 standard for rendering of state service on Issue of Local Municipal Statements of Residence was approved. Standard specifies procedure of rendering of state service on issue of statement of residence to physical persons and legal entities of the Republic of Kazakhstan, foreigners and persons without citizenship. State service is provided free of charge.

Resolution of the Board of the National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan dated 24 August 2009 №№ 76 «On Amendments to Resolution of the Board of the National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan dated 11 December 2006 № 129 «On Approval of Rules of Foreign Exchange Operations in the Republic of Kazakhstan » (effective from01.11.2009).

In accordance with amendments it is mandatory to provide currency contract for payments and (or) money transfer under foreign currency operations, with regard to which requirements to registration, notification or execution of transaction passport are specified. It is not required to provide currency contract in a number of cases specified in the Rules if payment and (or) money transfer to the bank accounts of residents and non-residents is in the amount not exceeding equivalent of ten thousand US Dollars.

Resolution of the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan dated 2 November 2009 № 1740 «On General Plan of Golden City – New Town in Almaty Oblast (effective from02.11.2009).

It is planned to implement all project proposals within 22 years. Main task of the general plan is realization of a complex of town-planning activity aimed at establishment of ecological city with favorable, safe and comfortable environment, transfer of some city functions for decongesting of urban areas of Almaty.

Resolution of the Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan dated 2 November 2009 № 1739 On General Plan of Gate City – New Town in Almaty Oblast (effective from02.11.2009).

Favorable location of Gate City in immediate neighborhood of Almaty, main regional roads – highway of republican status Almaty-Kapshagai and BAKAD that will be a part of international motor corridor Western China – Western Europe will allow city to become the most important outpost of Kazakhstan and Central Asia.

Resolution of the Board of the National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan dated 25 September 2009 № 91 «On Amendments to Some Resolutions of the Board of the National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan on Issues of Transfer to New Structure of Bank Account Number of Bank’s Client and Bank Identification Code» (effective from02.11.2009).

In accordance with Rules of Establishment of Correspondent Relations between National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan and banks, organizations carrying out some types of banking operations, bank code, code of bank’s branch office is a unique number consisting of three digit positions that is given by National Bank to banks, organizations and their branch offices for use with purpose of formation of client’s bank account number, export-import currency control and other purposes. Bank code is given to bank or organization simultaneously with opening of correspondent account in the National Bank. Code of bank’s branch office is given to the branch office or organization and is included into reference book of bank identification codes after submission of corresponding documents by bank or organization to the National Bank.

Resolution of the Board of the Agency of the Republic of Kazakhstan on Regulation and Control over Financial Market and Financial Organizations dated2 November 2009 № 228 «On Amendments to the Resolution of the Board of the Agency of the Republic of Kazakhstan on Regulation and Control over Financial Market and Financial Organizations dated 16 July 2007 № 210 «On List and Procedure of Acquisition of Underlaying Assets of Derivative Securities, which Can Be Operated by Second-tier Banks in the Framework of Their Broker or Dealer Activity in the Securities Market » (effective from16.11.2009).

Amendment specifies that second-tier banks can make operations with derivative securities and derivative financial instruments, underlaying asset of which is credit risk by means of acquisition (to act as buyers) of credit default swap and total return swap subject to fulfillment of specific conditions.

INTERNATIONAL LAW

Regulatory Resolution of the Constitutional Council of the Republic of Kazakhstan dated 5 November 2009 № 6 «On Official Interpretation of Provisions of Article 4 of the Constitution of the Republic of Kazakhstan with respect to Procedure of Execution of Decisions of International Organizations and their Bodies »

Decisions of international organizations and their bodies established in accordance with international agreements of the Republic of Kazakhstan can not be in contradiction with the Constitution of the Republic of Kazakhstan. Decisions of international organizations and their bodies with participation of the Republic of Kazakhstan may have legal characteristics of international agreement ratified by the Republic in case of direct specification of obligatory nature of these decisions for Kazakhstan in the international agreement ratified by the Republic of Kazakhstan. In case of conflict between decision of international organization and (or) its body mandatory for the Republic of Kazakhstan and regulatory legal acts of the Republic of Kazakhstan decision of international organization and (or) its body shall be valid until conflict resolution. Decisions of international organizations and their bodies derogative to the constitutional rights and freedoms of the person and the citizen can not be applied and correspondingly can not prevail over regulatory legal acts of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan «On Ratification of Convention between the Republic of Kazakhstan and Japan on Avoidance of Double Taxation and Prevention of Avoidance from Taxation in respect of Income Taxes and Related Protocol»

Convention is applied to the following taxes:

a) in the Republic of Kazakhstan: corporate income tax; personal income tax;

b) in Japan: income tax; corporate tax; local taxes from population.

DRAFT REGULATORY LEGAL ACTS

Brief on Draft Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan «On Amendments to the Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan «On Regulatory Legal Acts »(30 November 2009).

Draft Law was elaborated for execution of Action Plan to carry out commands of the head of state given at the Anti-Corruption Forum on 6 November 2008.

Draft Law specifies legislative establishment of institution of mandatory scientific anticorruption expertise of regulatory legal acts.

Brief on Draft Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan «On Amendments to the Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan «On Private Entrepreneurship»(30 November 2009).

Draft Law proposes Addendum to Appendix to the Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan «On Private Entrepreneurship” with regard to supervision in the sphere of atomic energy by state body in the sphere of power industry, subsoil use and provision of radiation safety.

Addendum to the Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan «On Private Entrepreneurship” is stipulated because activity on use of atomic energy has specific nature and is referred to activity, results of which can cause direct damage to health of population and environment. In this connection use of atomic energy in the Republic of Kazakhstan is subject to state control and supervision.

Brief on Draft Law of the Republic of Kazakhstan «On Amendments to Some Legislative Acts of the Republic of Kazakhstan on Issues of Children’s Villages of Family Type and Youth Houses»(2 November 2009).

Adoption of this draft law will allow improve housing problems of graduates of children’s homes for orphans and children left without parents’ care until they are 23 years old. Every year around 2 thousand children leave such institutions. Only 45% of graduates have right to live in the youth houses as graduates of children’s homes and children’s villages of family type.

In connection with this project it is assumed to establish youth houses not only attached to children’s homes and children’s villages of family type, but also as independent institutions.

KEY APPOINTMENTS

The following appointments were made in November 2009:

• Serik Nygmetuly Akhmetov was appointed to the position of Akim of Karagandy Oblast;

• Kanat Aldabergenovich Bozumbayev was appointed to the position of Akim of Zhambyl Oblast;

• Mr. Makhmetgali Nurgaliyevich Sarybekov was appointed to the position of Vice-Minister of Education and Science of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Information contained in this Client Update is of general nature and cannot be used as legal advice or recommendation. Please seek for a specific advice in relation to any questions. Please note that Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan are emerging economies and their legislation and legal systems are in constant development. Should you have any questions or would like to discuss subjects addressed in this Client Update please contact us.

Нововведения в законодательстве

Данный ОБЗОР ДЛЯ КЛИЕНТОВ включает изменения и дополнения в законодательство РК и основные назначения, имевшие место в ноябре 2009 года.

В ноябре 2009 года было принято 587 нормативных правовых актов, включая:

• Законы — 12

• Указы Президента Республики Казахстан – 8;

• Постановления Правительства Республики Казахстан – 228 (13 из них не введены в действие);

• иные нормативные правовые акты.

Большинство из данных нормативных правовых актов затрагивают публичный сектор, но в их числе есть те, которые могут привлечь Ваше внимание и оказать определенное влияние на Ваш бизнес в Казахстане.

Нам бы хотелось обратить Ваше внимание на следующие нормативные правовые акты:

Постановление Правления Национального Банка Республики Казахстан от 24 августа 2009 года № 77 «О внесении изменений и дополнений в постановление Правления Национального Банка Республики Казахстан от 17 августа 2006 года № 86 «Об утверждении Правил осуществления экспортно-импортного валютного контроля в Республике Казахстан» (вступило в силу 01.11.2009 г.).

Так, согласно поправкам в Правила осуществления экспортно-импортного валютного контроля в Республике Казахстан, уполномоченные банки, а также филиалы Национального Банка осуществляют контроль за исполнением требования репатриации по контрактам на сумму свыше эквивалента пятидесяти тысяч долларов США (раннее было десяти тысяч), за исключением случаев, указанных в подпунктах 1)-5), 7) пункта 20 Правил. Кроме того, изменены термины и понятия, используемые в Правилах.

Постановление Правительства Республики Казахстан от 26 октября 2009 года № 1669 «Об утверждении стандарта оказания государственной услуги «Выдача адресных справок с места жительства» (вступило в силу 09.11.2009 г.).

В соответствии с пунктом 2 статьи 34 Бюджетного кодекса Республики Казахстан от 4 декабря 2008 года утвержден стандарт оказания государственной услуги «Выдача адресных справок с места жительства». Стандарт определяет порядок оказания государственной услуги по выдаче адресных справок физическим и юридическим лицам Республики Казахстан, иностранцам и лицам без гражданства. Государственная услуга предоставляется бесплатно.

Постановление Правления Национального Банка Республики Казахстан от 24 августа 2009 года № 76 «О внесении изменений и дополнений в постановление Правления Национального Банка Республики Казахстан от 11 декабря 2006 года № 129 «Об утверждении Правил осуществления валютных операций в Республике Казахстан» (вступило в силу 01.11.2009 г.).

Согласно поправкам, представление валютного договора обязательно для платежей и (или) переводов денег по валютным операциям, в отношении которых определены требования регистрации, уведомления или оформления паспорта сделки. При проведении платежа и (или) перевода денег по банковским счетам резидентов и нерезидентов в сумме, не превышающей эквивалента десяти тысяч долларов США, представление валютного договора не требуется в ряде случаях, оговоренных в Правилах.

Постановление Правительства Республики Казахстан от 2 ноября 2009 года № 1740 «О генеральном плане города-спутника «Golden City» Алматинской области» (вступило в силу 02.11.2009 г.).

Все проектные предложения планируется реализовать в течение 22-х лет. Главная цель генерального плана — проведение комплекса градостроительных мероприятий, направленных на создание экологического города с благоприятной, безопасной и социально-удобной жизненной средой, перенесение части городских функций с целью разгрузки города Алматы.

Постановление Правительства Республики Казахстан от 2 ноября 2009 года № 1739 «О генеральном плане города-спутника «Gate City» Алматинской области» (вступило в силу 02.11.2009 г.).

Выгодное расположение Гейт Сити в непосредственной близости от Алматы и наличие главных магистралей региона — автомагистрали республиканского значения Алматы — Капшагай и БАКАД, которые будут частью международного автомобильного коридора Западный Китай — Западная Европа, позволит городу стать важнейшим форпостом Казахстана и всей Центральной Азии.

Постановление Правления Национального Банка Республики Казахстан от 25 сентября 2009 года № 91 «О внесении изменений и дополнений в некоторые постановления Правления Национального Банка Республики Казахстан по вопросам перехода на новую структуру номера банковского счета клиента банка и банковского идентификационного кода» (вступило в силу 02.11.2009 г.).

Согласно поправкам в Правила установления корреспондентских отношений между Национальным Банком Республики Казахстан и банками, а также организациями, осуществляющими отдельные виды банковских операций, код банка, код филиала банка — уникальный номер, состоящий из трех цифровых разрядов, присваиваемый Национальным Банком банкам, организациям и их филиалам для использования в целях формирования номера банковского счета клиента, экспортно-импортного валютного контроля и иных целей. Код банка присваивается банку или организации одновременно с открытием корреспондентского счета в Национальном Банке. Код филиала банка присваивается филиалу банка или организации и включается в справочник банковских идентификационных кодов после представления банком или организацией в Национальный Банк соответствующих документов.

Постановление Правления Агентства Республики Казахстан по регулированию и надзору финансового рынка и финансовых организаций от 2 ноября 2009 года № 228 «О внесении дополнений и изменений в постановление Правления Агентства Республики Казахстан по регулированию и надзору финансового рынка и финансовых организаций от 16 июля 2007 года № 210 «О перечне и порядке приобретения базовых активов производных ценных бумаг, с которыми банки второго уровня могут осуществлять брокерскую и/или дилерскую деятельность на рынке ценных бумаг» (вступило в силу 16.11.2009 г.).

Поправками предусматривается, что банки второго уровня могут осуществлять операции с производными ценными бумагами и производными финансовыми инструментами, базовым активом которых является кредитный риск, посредством приобретения (выступать в качестве покупателей) свопов кредитного дефолта (credit default swap) и свопов совокупного дохода (total return swap), при выполнении определенных условий.

МЕЖДУНАРОДНОЕ ПРАВО

Нормативное Постановление Конституционного Совета Республики Казахстан от 5 ноября 2009 года № 6 «Об официальном толковании норм статьи 4 Конституции Республики Казахстан применительно к порядку исполнения решений международных организаций и их органов»

Решения международных организаций и их органов, образуемых в соответствии с международными договорами Республики Казахстан, не могут противоречить Конституции Республики Казахстан. Решения международных организаций и их органов, участником которых является Республика Казахстан, могут приобретать юридические свойства ратифицированного Республикой международного договора, в случае непосредственного указания на обязательный характер для Казахстана данных решений в международном договоре, ратифицированном Республикой Казахстан. В случае коллизии между обязательным для Казахстана решением международной организации и (или) ее органа и нормативными правовыми актами Республики Казахстан действует решение международной организации и (или) ее органа впредь до устранения такой коллизии. Не могут применяться непосредственно и, соответственно, иметь приоритет перед нормативными правовыми актами Республики Казахстан решения международных организаций и их органов, ущемляющие конституционные права и свободы человека и гражданина.

Закон Республики Казахстан «О ратификации Конвенции между Республикой Казахстан и Японией об избежании двойного налогообложения и предотвращении уклонения от налогообложения в отношении налогов на доход и Протокола к ней»

Конвенция применяется к следующим налогам:

a) в Республике Казахстан: корпоративный подоходный налог; индивидуальный подоходный налог;

b) в Японии: подоходный налог; корпоративный налог; местные налоги с населения.

ПРОЕКТЫ НПА

Досье на проект Закона Республики Казахстан «О внесении изменений и дополнений в Закон Республики Казахстан «О нормативных правовых актах» (30 ноября 2009 г.).

Законопроект разработан во исполнение Плана мероприятий по исполнению поручений Главы государства, данных на Антикоррупционном форуме 6 ноября 2008 г.

Законопроектом предусматривается законодательное закрепление института обязательной научной антикоррупционной экспертизы проектов нормативных правовых актов.

Досье на проект Закона Республики Казахстан О внесении дополнения в Закон Республики Казахстан «О частном предпринимательстве» (30 ноября 2009 года).

Законопроект предполагает дополнение приложения к Закону Республики Казахстан «О частном предпринимательстве» по осуществлению государственным органом в области электроэнергетики, по использованию недр и обеспечения радиационной безопасности надзора в области атомной энергии.

Дополнение Закона Республики Казахстан «О частном предпринимательстве» обусловлено тем, что деятельность по использованию атомной энергии носит специфический характер и относится к деятельности, в результате которой может быть нанесён прямой ущерб здоровью людей и окружающей среде. В этой связи использование атомной энергии в Республике Казахстан подлежит государственному контролю и надзору.

Досье на проект Закона Республики Казахстан «О внесении изменений и дополнений в некоторые законодательные акты Республики Казахстан по вопросам детских деревень семейного типа и домов юношества» (2 ноября 2009 года).

Принятие проекта закона позволит решить жилищные проблемы выпускников интернатных учреждений для детей-сирот и детей оставшихся без попечения родителей до 23 лет. Ежегодно данные учреждения заканчивают около 2 тысячи детей. Из них только 45% выпускников имеют право проживать в домах юношества, как выпускники детских домов и детских деревень семейного типа.

В связи этим проектом предусматривается создание домов юношества не только при детских домах и детских деревнях семейного типа, но и как самостоятельные учреждения.

ОСНОВНЫЕ НАЗНАЧЕНИЯ

В ноябре 2009 года имели место следующие кадровые назначения:

• Ахметов Серик Ныгметулы был назначен акимом Карагандинской области;

• Бозумбанв Канат Алдабергенович был назначен акимом Жамбылской области;

• Сарыбеков Махметгали Нургалиевич был назначен вице-министром образования и науки Республики Казахстан.

Информация, содержащаяся в настоящем Обзоре, общего характера и не может быть использована как юридическая консультация или рекомендация. Пожалуйста, обращайтесь к юристам в случае возникновения вопросов. Пожалуйста, имейте в виду, что Казахстан и Туркменистан являются развивающимися экономиками и законодательство и правовая система находятся в постоянном развитии. В случае возникновения каких-либо вопросов или необходимости обсудить вопросы, изложенные в настоящем Обзоре, пожалуйста, обращайтесь.