Disproportionate Participation Interests in the Charter Capital of the LLP: When Technical Deficiencies Create a Problem

We live in uncertain times. Our government as never before shall be interested in attracting foreign investments. It has been widely declared about creating a favorable business climate in Kazakhstan, namely simplifying the regulation procedures, creating the automated digital system, reducing the bureaucracy, and improving the business environment. No doubt, such declarations have their positive effect, and every year we notice it while helping our clients with legal matters. However, as we can see from our practice, there are still flaws and sometimes rather serious.

 

We have recently advised a foreign pharmaceutical company (hereinafter – the “Investor”) on the transaction whereby the Investor was acquiring a right to become a participant of Kazakh LLP by increasing its charter capital (according to Subclause 5) of Clause 2 of Article 26 of the Law on LLP). The existing participant of LLP and the Investor agreed on their participation interests being disproportionate to their contributions to the LLP's charter capital as per Article 28 of the Law on LLP.

 

We faced the following problem when filing for the re-registration of the LLP: the software of the Citizens Services Center (CSC) used for registration of the applications did not allow us to register the participation interests of the participants that were disproportionate to their contributions to the charter capital of the LLP. For example, if the charter capital is 30 KZT and the new participant is entering LLP by increasing its charter capital for additional 70 KZT, the software can only register its participation interest as 70%.

 

In our client's case, the increase of the LLP's charter capital was made by accepting new participant into the LLP. According to the Law on LLP, if the charter capital is increased with an additional contribution by any of the participants or by the newly accepted participant, the size of such contribution is determined taking into consideration its previous contribution to the charter capital of the LLP and recalculation of the participation interests in the charter capital of all other participants. The Law provides that such a decision shall be made by the general agreement of all participants. 

 

Our client was a new participant to the LLP, and his contribution could not be determined taking into consideration its previous contribution. The parties signed the investment agreement and established in the foundation documents of the LLP that their participation interests are disproportionate to their contributions to the charter capital. It is worth repeating that the Law on LLP (Paragraph 1 of Clause 1 of Article 28) provides for such a possibility for the participation interests to be disproportionate to the contributions to the LLP's charter capital. However, as it was discovered, the software used by the state authorities did not allow to accommodate such will of the parties. The system at the CSC rejected all attempts to register disproportionate participation interests.

 

In this case, the CSC shall simply collect the documents to send them for the further review to the Department of Registration of the Real Estate and Legal Entities of the Branch of the State Corporation Citizens Government (hereinafter – the “Department”). After numerous clarifications and written requests, the CSC employee had to temporarily fill in incorrect data to register the application and hand it over to the Department. Based on the information that we have received from the Department, we realized that the Department could fill in the correct data into the system but refused to do so, referring to the fact that the CSC employee should have filled in such data before. Here we experienced a well-known principle of shifting the responsibility between stakeholders while the interests of the bona fide investor were damaged.

 

All officials understood that the legislation allowed for the disproportionate participation interests, and re-registration was possible. Nevertheless, they chose to insist on the software deficiencies putting them above the rule of law. After lengthy discussions and explanations, written requests and phone calls to the central authorities, the Ministry of Justice, National Digital Technologies JSC, and one month after the re-registration application was filed, the state authorities finally succeeded by entering data manually.

 

We decided to share this experience with our audience because the technical deficiency of the CSC system remained unfixed, and our case was resolved individually by the numerous requests and explanations addressed to the higher-level authorities. As practice shows, the activities of the state authorities require revision, taking into account plans of our government to attract more investors.

 

 

Information contained in this Client Update is of general nature and cannot be used as legal advice or recommendation. Please note that Kazakhstan is an emerging economy, and its legislation and legal system are in constant development. Should you have any questions or want to discuss matters addressed in this Client Update, please contact us.

Непропорциональность долей участия вкладам в уставный капитал ТОО: препятствие в виде технических недочетов системы

Мы проживаем нелегкие времена и наше государство, как никогда ранее, заинтересовано сейчас в привлечении иностранных инвестиций. Повсеместно заявляется о создании благоприятных условий для ведения бизнеса в Казахстане, в частности, об упрощении регуляторных процедур, создании автоматизированной цифровой системы, упрощающих бюрократические процедуры и в целом улучшающих бизнес среду. Положительный эффект от таких заявлений, несомненно, есть, и мы ежегодно отмечаем его для себя при содействии своим клиентам по юридическим вопросам.  Но, как показывает практика, недоработки еще есть, и иногда достаточно серьезные.

В одном из наших последних проектов мы сопровождали сделку, при которой иностранная фармацевтическая компания (далее – «Инвестор») получала право стать участником казахстанского ТОО путем увеличения его уставного капитала (согласно подпункта 5) пункта 2 статьи 26 Закона о ТОО). По соглашению между действующим участником ТОО и Инвестором стороны договорились о непропорциональности их долей участия вкладам в уставный капитал ТОО, что прямо предусмотрено статьей 28 Закона о ТОО.

При подаче заявления на перерегистрацию ТОО возникла следующая проблема: программное обеспечение, используемое Центром обслуживания населения (ЦОН) для принятия заявления, не позволило зафиксировать непропорциональность долей участия участников их вкладам в уставный капитал ТОО. То есть, если к примеру уставный капитал ТОО составляет 30 тенге и новый участник вступает в ТОО, увеличивая уставный капитал на дополнительные 70 тенге, то программное обеспечение может зарегистрировать его долю участия исключительно в размере 70%.

В случае нашего клиента увеличение уставного капитала ТОО осуществлялось путем принятия в состав ТОО новых участников. Согласно Закону о ТОО при увеличении уставного капитала путем внесения дополнительного взноса кем-либо из участников либо вновь принимаемым участником, размер такого вклада определяется с учетом размера их предыдущего взноса в собственный капитал ТОО и необходимостью перерасчета долей всех участников в уставном капитале. Далее Закон закрепляет, что такое решение принимается по общему согласию всех участников.

Наш клиент – новый участник ТОО, его вклад не мог быть определен с учетом размера его предыдущего взноса.  Стороны подписали инвестиционное соглашение и учредительными документами ТОО предусмотрели непропорциональность долей участия вкладам в уставный капитал. И здесь стоит повториться, что Закон о ТОО (часть 1 пункта 1 статьи 28) закрепляет возможность непропорциональности долей участия вкладам в уставный капитал ТОО. Однако, как оказалось, программное обеспечение, установленное в государственных органах, не позволяет зафиксировать волеизъявления сторон. При принятии документов в ЦОН система отказывалась внести необходимые непропорциональные доли участия.

ЦОН в данном случае осуществляет лишь функцию приема документов, которые затем передает для обработки в Управление регистрации прав на недвижимое имущество и юридических лиц Филиала НАО «Государственная корпорация «Правительство для граждан» (далее – «Управление»). На основании многочисленных разъяснений и наших письменных заявлений, работнику ЦОН пришлось внести в систему временные некорректные данные для регистрации заявления и его передачи в Управление. Основываясь на информации, полученной от Управления, мы понимали, что само Управление могло внести в систему правильные данные, но отказывалось вносить их, ссылаясь на то, что такие данные изначально должны были быть внесены работником ЦОН. Здесь уже включился знакомый нам всем принцип перекидывания ответственности, в результате которого страдает добросовестный инвестор.

Работники государственных органов понимали, что законодательством разрешено предусмотреть непропорциональность долей участия, и осуществление перерегистрации было полностью в их руках, однако они предпочли сослаться на неполадки в программном обеспечении, ставя их выше буквы закона. В результате долгих споров и разъяснений, писем и звонков в центральный аппарат, Министерство юстиции РК, АО «Национальные информационные технологии», по истечении месяца с момента подачи заявления на перерегистрацию, государственные органы осуществили перерегистрацию ТОО посредством внесения корректных данных вручную.

Мы решили поделиться данным опытом с нашей аудиторией, так как техническое ограничение в ЦОН осталось без каких-либо изменений и наш случай был разрешен индивидуально за счет многочисленных запросов и разъяснений, адресованных в вышестоящие органы. Практика показывает, что деятельность государственных органов все еще требует пересмотра с учетом планов нашего государства привлечь больше инвесторов.

 

Информация, содержащаяся в настоящем Обзоре, общего характера и не может быть использована как юридическая консультация или рекомендация. Пожалуйста, имейте в виду, что Казахстан является развивающейся экономикой, и законодательство и правовая система находятся в постоянном развитии. В случае возникновения каких-либо вопросов в отношении информации, изложенной в настоящем Обзоре, пожалуйста,